White Chocolate Chips

Ask any vegan what he or she misses most, and chances are the answers will surprise you.  What we tend to miss the most are things that we didn’t even like (or honestly pay much attention to) when the were readily available.  For Jason, that means marshmallows and all things gummy.  Seriously, you should see it when we discover that some cheap gummy candy happens to be vegan.  I’m not gonna use the word schoolgirl, but I could.

As for me, one of the things I miss the most is white chocolate.  Am I proud of this?  No, I am not.  I readily admit that white chocolate tastes like slightly sweetened wax.

mmmmmmm . . .  sweet, sweet wax . . .

Anyway, try finding vegan chocolate chips anywhere in North Carolina (especially ones that cost less than 4.00 a bag).  I dare you.

So, the other day we were shopping at our local dented-cans-for-less-type discount grocery store (amazing savings) and we came across these:

Decorating Chips

That’s right, the price tag does say $.99. And the ingredients? Cocoa butter and sugar. That’s it. So, we bought six bags. That’s a little crazy, I know. But, we normally can’t find white chocolate for any price, so we stocked up. Obviously, since they don’t contain any milk or milk substitute, they don’t taste exactly the same as white chocolate. But does that stop me from eating them directly out of the bag? Guess.

white decorating chips

The day we got them, I made some raspberry buttercream-filled cupcakes with chocolate ganache and white chocolate drizzle.

jason with a chocolate raspberry cupcake

They were really good, but the white chocolate didn’t stand out nearly as much as we wanted it to. It’s a really subtle flavor, so we have to put it in a recipe where it really stands out. We were thinking about making some brownies with lots of white chocolate chips. Whatever we end up doing, we’ll post the results in a couple of days.

Dreaming of white chocolate brownies,
ian

2 Comments

Filed under new product

2 responses to “White Chocolate Chips

  1. I’ve shied away from white chocolate but had no idea those decorating chips were just cocoa butter & sugar. I’ll have to pick them up next time I stop over at Amazing Savings.

  2. I just did a package swap with one of my PPK friends who lives in NC and she sent me a few bags of those White Chocolate Chips! I’m so excited to use them!

Leave a Reply

