Peanut Butter Cookies

OK, so I know I promised brownies.  And they’re coming, I still promise.

But . . .

Yesterday was kind of a rough day, and we really needed something from the oven that came together quickly.  And brownies, love them though I do, bake for a long time (like 45 minutes).  And then you have to let them cool for at least half an hour.  Now, I know lots of people would probably disagree with me on this point, but believe me, I have eaten lots of brownies in my day.  And I really believe that they have their best flavor when they are still slightly warmer than room temperature, but cool enough to hold their shape.

We are going to a costume party in Atlanta this weekend, and last night was our only free night to finish our costumes.   So, as Jason was busily sewing clear plastic dropcloths together and painting tank tops with gear stencils, and I was trying to figure out which makeup would make our skin look realistically silver, we made cookies.

I am a pretty big fan of peanut butter.  Jason, on the other hand, is what you might call a fanatic.  He can eat a jar of peanut butter in two days.  I’ve seen it happen.  So, to thank him for coming home from a hard day at work and immediately getting out the sewing machine, I decided peanut butter cookies were the way to go.  I tend to make slightly fussier recipes than simple peanut butter cookies, but we needed something fast and simple.  Here’s what we ended up with:

Peanut Butter Cookies

OK, so the first thing you probably noticed is that they are ugly.  Yeah, that’s the first thing I noticed too.  We got the recipe from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero.  The recipe said that if the dough was too dry, add a tablespoon or two of soy milk to thin it a little.  After two tablespoons of milk, it still seemed too dry, but I didn’t want to add too much and ruin the dough.  In retrospect, I probably could have added an extra tablespoon of milk and been fine.  Now I know for next time.

Attractiveness aside, however, these cookies were amazing.  They were crispy on the edges and still slightly soft in the centers.  And they tasted just like the peanut butter cookies your mom made when you were a kid (hopefully your mom made you cookies.  She should have).  The best part about these cookies (in my opinion) was that the first batch was done, cool, and ready to eat in less than twenty minutes.

Oh, and they were even better this morning for breakfast.  Yes, I eat cookies for breakfast (don’t you love being an adult?).  And we had to get up and out of the house really early this morning, which made having a portable breakfast of (totally crispy now) peanut butter cookies and cold rice milk especially awesome.

Peanut Butter Cookies

Let’s hope this was just a great beginning to an equally great day!

Oh, and like I said we are going out of town tomorrow, and will be gone until Sunday morning/afternoon.  So we won’t be making brownies until Sunday night at the earliest.  I hope you can wait that long.

Still dreaming of brownies (even as I am brush cookie crumbs off my chin [Jason says I’m incorrigible, but I think I’m cute]),

Ian

Leave a comment

Filed under cookies

Leave a Reply

